James dean


Under the cover of darkness, bodies move, songs blare, dreams unfurl, passions flare, and hearts race. Alphacub bridles that nocturnal spirit on his full-length debut—the aptly titled Night Heart [Culvert Music]. The vision of Toronto-based and Nova Scotia-raised aural auteur Marc-Antoine Robertson, the record balances shimmering eighties synths, dancefloor-ready beats, stadium-size energy, and grunge attitude (as if M83 and Billy Corgan teamed up to score an Atomic Blonde sequel). Originally hailing from Canada’s east coast, Robertson cut his teeth in the successful local indie outfit Soho Ghetto. Following the group’s 2014 split, he quietly recorded what would become Alphacub’s self-titled EP. Catching the attention of Culvert, he inked a deal during 2015 and continues to build a profile throughout his home country.

Track listing

1. James Dean